"sweating blood" at top of beak / bottom of comb???

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Over Easy PA, Jul 22, 2011.

1. Over Easy PA

Over Easy PA Out Of The Brooder

Jul 8, 2011
    I'm totally new to chickens -- just got them 2 weeks ago. So in the horrible heat late yesterday afternoon, before dinner time, all 10 of my chickens (6 / 7 weeks) suddenly had a little drop of blood at the top of their beak, bottom of where the comb is developing! Actually it seemed to be a drop of blood and also some clear liquid. Was that some kind of reaction to the high temps? Any explanation for that? A danger sign of some kind, like they were about to have heat stroke or something? It didn't look like any kind of injury happened, and I didn't see how all of them could get the exact same injury, anyway. Some of them were panting, or at least holding their beaks open (which is guess is panting for a chicken?)

Also - Most of them are just beginning to get kind of pinkish/red faces in the past couple of days. I guess that's a developmental stage. So wondering if that means that they have extra blood circulating around in new capillaries in their comb/wattles areas? And so in the heat maybe they were "sweating blood"???

My instinct was just to do what I had been doing to make sure they stay as cool as possible -- Their run is in a nice shady spot. I have made sure they have plenty of cool water - and ice water in the afternoon. When I saw this weird thing develop with the blood/liquid drop on their beak/comb, I stayed with them and set out a 9x13 pan of cool water -- stood some of them in it, but they would jump out quickly! Had already misted down 1/2 of their run a couple of times earlier in the day, so did that again. They don't seem to like walking around in the mist, but once I turn it off, they do walk around in the damp part.