Swollen leg on quail

ibellaholliday

In the Brooder
Jul 1, 2020
Today I was cleaning out my baby quails, they’re just over three weeks old. I noticed one limping and saw it’s foot which was incredibly swollen. When I picked it up and examined it there appeared to be a human hair coming from the cut - it looks like there’s a hair wrapped around the leg and has caused cuts all around the leg. We tried to remove the hair as much as we could, but as the leg is so swollen it must be wrapped around so tightly. What is the best plan of action here? I’m relatively new to keeping quail, this is the third batch I’ve hatched and haven’t had an injury before. The quail now is standing on one leg. We cleaned it with a little salt water and as I said, tried to remove as much of the hair as we could see.. any help is much appreciated. Thanks (photo attached)
DBE4551E-5A05-483A-9C00-B3FD4544C5B3.jpeg
1EBFBC11-D688-4D3A-A90F-4F01BC273B1F.jpeg

Poor thing! I also had a chick with a hair
tourniquet. It's terrible. She ended up losing the tips of her toes, but fortunately she is otherwise unaffected. If there's still any hair wrapped, find a way to remove it because the swelling will not improve while it is cutting off the circulation. I used small nail/manicure scissors. Hopefully you've caught it early enough to avoid long-term damage. Give her cold Epsom salt bath soaks to reduce the swelling after the hair is gone. She may also need antibiotic ointment if the hair (or scissors) cut into the skin. Good luck.