Teacher seeking info in Kansas: Please Help!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by rlwt, Jan 11, 2012.

1. rlwt

rlwt Out Of The Brooder

Jan 11, 2012
    Lawrence, KS
    I am a middle school teacher and I first got interested in chickens through looking for information for an incubation project to do with my 6th graders. I am now at the stage where I am looking for Orpington hatching eggs and absorbing as much information as possible. I am hoping to convince my head of school to let the kids raise the chickens out back and sell eggs from the school as a business/biology project. I am in Lawrence, KS so if anyone has any good ideas for this project there are a few things I'm looking into now:

1. I'm trying to decide where to purchase eggs from. Every thing I have seen so far has involved shipping and I'd love to go pick up the eggs from someone so that they do not get shaken so much in their trip here.
    2. I am trying to decide if I should purchase, borrow or build an incubator and a rotating platform for the eggs.
    3. I'm pretty sure I want Orpingtons but if anyone has a better suggestion please share what it is and why.
    4. I need to find either a cheap coop for the birds whether they stay at the school or elsewhere or I could find a plan to build one so any ideas there would be useful as well.

Looking forward to getting some good info!

Thanks

Last edited: Jan 12, 2012
  2. ChickenPeep

ChickenPeep Faith & Feathers

May 1, 2011
    Olathe, Kansas
    Hello!!!!! [​IMG]
    I'm in Olathe Kansas, about 40 minutes away!
    I'm sorry, I can't help you with that. [​IMG]

3. JulieNKC

JulieNKC Overrun With Chickens

Sep 25, 2010
    Kansas City
    [​IMG] from Missouri!

4. weimarmama

weimarmama Overrun With Chickens

Jun 4, 2010
    Alabama
    My Coop