Temps are starting to drop outside

bobbieschicks

Chicken Tender
8 Years
Jun 24, 2011
King George, VA
My Coop
My Coop
I'm new to chickens. I've looked but couldn't find a temperature range/chart for the inside of the chicken coop. Should the coop stay at a particular degree or should the chickens just stay inside during cold weather? I noticed the temps went from 84F to 65F during the night. I had closed up all up a few of the windows before I went to bed. Should I leave the windows open to allow for venting of air or keep closing them down to keep the chicks warm as they are only 4 weeks old right now.

Thanks!

Last year there was a thread with people putting in how cold their coops were and how the chickens were doing (some had frozen eggs!) for like it above 30 because I am afraid that my leghorn will get frost bite on her comb.

Goodness. There are a lot of threads on this subject and the Home Page here has great Basic 101 information to read as well.

Chickens have been kept in northern European countries for a 1000 years. The hardy breeds most of us know and love were developed right here in North America, most of them in the far northern states. No heat. No insulation. No electricity in those days. RIR, Plymouth Rocks, New Hampshire, Buckeyes, Wyandottes, etc, all cold hard breeds from bitter cold temperature states.

The chicken has a feather down coat. If you keep them dry and if the coop isn't humid (condensation is the cause of frostbite), ie ventilated to allow the humid gasses to escape, the chickens do fine in even sub zero weather with no issues. Yes, one has to collect eggs with regularity in cold weather, they don't freeze as quickly as you might think.

69833_dscf2994.jpg

Last edited: