Thinking about chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by neurohr, May 30, 2012.

1. neurohr

neurohr Hatching

May 30, 2012
    Hello everyone, I am thinking about getting some chickens. I just bought a new place and it has a chicken coop out back so wanting to put it to use. I am new to chickens, as a matter a fact, I just found out yesterday I don't need a rooster to get eggs,????? But I live in kentucky and wanting to know the best chickens to get for eggs and eat when they are done producing eggs. I don't want to raise chicks, Im looking to get chickens that are already laying. I am full of questions and hope you all will bear with me as I try this out...

2. groundpecker

groundpecker Songster

Jun 26, 2011
    Rison, Arkansas
    If byc members from your state has a "state thread" you can ask for birds there.
    I would not recommend buying grown birds form just anyone from anywhere. The birds may have a disease.
    I know people new to the chicken world want "Laying birds NOW!" But it is best to wait a while to get good birds.

Here is the link for kentucky

https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=110

Last edited: May 30, 2012
    1 person likes this.
  3. 4-H chicken mom

4-H chicken mom Crowing

Aug 3, 2007
    Oberlin, OH
    Hi and :welcome from Ohio. So glad you joined. You are in the right place to learn. Just pic a section and ask away. :thumbsup

4. neurohr

neurohr Hatching

May 30, 2012
    Thank you for the warm welcomes. Im sure I will spend a couple days reading, and then start asking. This looks like a great site to learn things

5. ChickiesInUtah

ChickiesInUtah Chirping

May 14, 2012
    Northern Utah
    Welcome! [​IMG]

I'm new too. We can muddle through this together. [​IMG]

6. neurohr

neurohr Hatching

May 30, 2012
    sounds good, do you alreay have some chickens???

7. ChickiesInUtah

ChickiesInUtah Chirping

May 14, 2012
    Northern Utah