thinking of getting some ducks

teaspoon

In the Brooder
8 Years
Hello! I've been raising chickens in my backyard for about five years now. I live in a neighborhood where the houses are fairly close, but since I don't have roosters crowing, no one has complained. In fact, I often get people stopping to ask about the hens, and a few neighbors buy eggs from me. I've always loved ducks but couldn't think of a good reason to get some until a client at work told me about duck breeds that lay as much as chickens. I'd LOVE to get some khaki campbells. I've got an old chicken coop that will easily fit five of six of them. But a farmer friend of mine says that ducks are "loud and messy". Are they much louder than a flock of laying hens? Are there any other concerns that I should be aware of with keeping them? Any advice is welcome! Thanks!

Best believe it. Ducks are noisy and MESSY. Some breeds are more noisy than others, but they ALL are messy.

Check with your neighbors before you get any and let them know about the potential noise. Messiness is your problem.
If you don't check first, they (neighbors) can turn on you and you will need to get rid of the ducks and/or chickens.
old.gif

I have 2 Indian Runners. DH wanted to go out and strangle them this morning because they were being so loud. They have since gone back to their quiet selves, but as it cools down here, they get noisy in the morning after they are let out - not usually for too long, but long enough to annoy DH.

Messy, yes! Loud, depends.