Thriving and then not chicks

myhoneybfly

Hatching
6 Years
Jul 23, 2013
a few seconds ago
myhoneybfly
I know this has been addressed I previous lines and post, but since I am pretty new at this and I am hoping I might have missed something. I have 4 chicks that are of mixed varities but all 2wks olds. All were vac before I recieved and no one has been outside yet. They all seemed fine, 1 looks like it just wasn't thriving so I separated it, feet looked somewhat curled. Working on that issue. She is hanging in there. Now I have 3 others, big strapping guys that are big compared to others starting to hobble around. Muscle tiring and squatting a lot. 2 have toes that are curling and one just sits constantly. They are on good fresh feed, probiotics and vit mix'd into water daily. What am I missing? Is it just lack of thriving and other growing too fast? And how do I help?

Welcome to BYC. Are you feeding a commercial chick starter? It almost sounds as if you might be dealing with a vitamin shortage.

images

Welcome to BYC!

If this isn't a genetic issue as many times curled toes and weakness are, but it is possible that you are over doing the vitamins. I once read an article about how giving too much vitamins to poultry can actually be harmful to their ability to absorb nutrients from the feed.

If this was going on in my flock I would stop with vitamins and not to take any chances, I would get another type of feed. I would however, keep up with the probiotics.

You might also post this question in our Raising Chicks section in case someone else has had this issue as well...

https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/11/raising-baby-chicks

Good luck with your babies. I hope you can resolve this soon!

Last edited:
Hello :frow and Welcome To BYC! X3 check what you are feeding and exactly what is in the vitamins you are giving, it sounds a lot like curled toes

https://sites.google.com/a/poultrypedia.com/poultrypedia/poultry-podiatry
Increase Riboflavin for Curled Toes