To breed or not to breed?

LittlenRedHen782

Songster
10 Years
Mar 28, 2009
South Jordan UT
I am new to chickens I got my first chicks in March and now understand a friends attachment to her birds.
smile.png
In my little flock of RIRs I have at least one roo for sure. He is mild mannered and I am thinking that I want to keep him for breeding. I am just wondering if I should make him and a couple of the girls thier own yard and house so that I know that the possible furtile eggs are separated from the rest of the eggs? If it is worth the effort? Should I let the hens raise any chicks or should i take on that job? Are there ways to reduce the noise of a roo? How should I select the hens?
barnie.gif
and many more questions that I am not sure i know right now. Any advice would be helpful and welcomed.

The roo

some of the hens (I hope they are all hens)

I am just wondering if I should make him and a couple of the girls thier own yard and house so that I know that the possible furtile eggs are separated from the rest of the eggs?

How many hens will you wind up with? One RIR rooster should be ale to keep 10 or 12 hens fertile with no problem. If you have more hens than that all eggs might not be fertile, but a lot will.

Should I let the hens raise any chicks or should I take on that job?

RIR are not considered a broody breed. They have been bred for production for so long that the urge to go broody has been mostly bred out of them. Not entirely, but mostly. You may get lucky and get a broody, but I would not expect it. You may want to look into incubators, either homemade or commercial. I will warn you, incubating can become addicting. If you do get a broody, there are reasons both ways. To me, a lot of the answer depends on how much room you have. If you do get a broody, there will be plenty of time to post a specific question on that before you have to make up your mind.

Are there ways to reduce the noise of a roo?