To cage or free range

jjpeacock

In the Brooder
5 Years
Nov 6, 2014
I'm new to the whole peacock world. I have an opportunity to adopt a male & female, brother & sister. Would like to let them free roam. We have 10 acres with 2 of it fenced with 7.5ft deer fence. Have neighbors on all sides that have horses, dogs etc. Have seen an occasional coyote, bobcat in the area. The fenced area is landscaped with flowers etc, 2 water falls, no lawn. We have giant pines & oaks. What would I need to do so the Peacocks would stay and call the 2 acres home?

You would need to pen them in at least a 200 sf area for the winter, a larger pen would be nice. Then next spring you could let them out during the day but keep feeding them in the pen every evening to bring them back to roost for the night. Your fence will not make them stay, they can hop right over it if they want but a constant supply of food will keep them around after they start calling your home their home.

Thank you for your advice. These birds are 5 mo old. I understand the male isn't capable of fertilizing the eggs until 4 yrs old? Should I trade sooner than later so they don't bond too much? Or is that an issue with them.

A hen is capable of laying a few eggs at one year, usually unfertile or too late in the year for a fertile male to be available. Cocks I am unsure if they are capable the first year but I understand that they are able to mate at two years and certainly by three. The younger males are normally kept from breeding by the older cocks in the flock.

What type/color of peas are you getting?

We looked at them the other day. Owner said female was the white one. More of a grey - white mix. The male had more green tones rather than normal blue. I have so much to learn & figure out.

Female sounds like a black shoulder. Does the male have any yellow or blue on his head close to his eyes? Congratulations, hope it works out for you. Worm them very soon unless you are sure they've been wormed.