To Help or Not To Help?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by quiltnchik, Mar 20, 2011.

1. quiltnchik

quiltnchik Chillin' With My Peeps

May 19, 2009
    Virginia
    I have 8 Rouen duck eggs that are on day 25. However, when I turned them last night I found 3 pipped and immediately moved all of them to the hatcher. Humidity is at 69% and temp is at 100. One of them has its little bill up and out of the egg, but hasn't made progress since early this morning. Should I help or give it longer? This is my first time hatching ducks, but I know this little one has been pipped for at least 24 hours and I'm beginning to worry because I see no signs of it trying to zip. I'm afraid the move from the 'bator to the hatcher may have dried out the membrane. Any advice? Please? [​IMG]

2. KMurphy

KMurphy Out Of The Brooder

Mar 20, 2011
    My advice would be to wait for another hour and if that doesn't help then do try and let it out.
    Good Luck!!!!!!!![​IMG]

3. The Duck ABC's

The Duck ABC's Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2011
    Your humidity is to low. You need 80-85% humidity for ducks. I don't think the move has caused it to shrink wrap, unless it took you more then 5 minutes, which I doubt. It is most likely shrink wrapped, if you have a hole with the bill sticking out. These holes tend to get larger, but you do not get the rotation to zip along. I would help if it has been stuck for so long. This must be done in stages and not all at once. Try to remove up to 1/3 if you can, but stop if you see bleeding. Wait 4-6 hours and continue. You goal is the half way mark. At that point is no more risk for further shrink wrapping. Do not pull the baby out, simply put it back into the incubator or hatcher and let nature take care of the rest.

4. whitedove

whitedove Out Of The Brooder

Mar 10, 2011
    Good luck! Hope everything turns out hood for you. [​IMG] [​IMG]

5. duckyfromoz

duckyfromoz Quackaholic

Jan 11, 2010
    Australia