Total newbie - is this coop OK, and for how many?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by fpgill, Jun 9, 2010.

1. fpgill

fpgill Hatching

Jun 9, 2010
    I am just getting started (no chickens yet). I have a homemade coop through freecycle and I wanted to ask if it was sufficient, and for how many birds.

Here's the basic idea:
    [​IMG]

Coop measures 37" by 30" (footprint). As you see the roof is sloped, height at the top is 39", height at the lowest point is 26". There are 3 nest boxes mounted inside the coop, against the tallest wall, raised above the floor so that there is 14" of head space under the boxes:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

The interior is lined with (deteriorating) foam which I am removing - I'm not sure insulation is necessary. My plan is to stick this coop inside a 8x10 dog kennel with some sort of roof to prevent hawks from picking them off. I also think I will raising the coop up more with another round of cinder blocks so they can walk under it for more room and shade.

So any advice - how many birds can I put in this coop? I'm not interested in bantams, and would appreciate any suggestions on breed - my main concerns are getting a breed that is cold hardy (I'm in MA zone 5b/6a) and that is productive for as many years as possible.

Thank you for any suggestions. I'm sure I will be back with more questions.

2. sydney13

sydney13 Songster

Mar 11, 2010
    Massachusetts
    i would say 2 standard breeds or 4 banties if they only sleep in it and thy are aloud to be outside the whole day with no rain or snow

Last edited: Jun 9, 2010
  3. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

That's only big enough for 1 or 2 hens.

4. fpgill

fpgill Hatching

Jun 9, 2010
    Thank you. My plan was indeed to have them outside during the day, shut them in at night. I was hoping to stick with this coop, but I was hoping to get may be 4 hens.