TOTW Problems?

sourland

Broody Magician
Premium Feather Member
15 Years
May 3, 2009
New Jersey
Is anyone having problems with TOTW High Prairie or Pacific Stream canine formulas? I've been feeding it for 3 months+ and like the results. Last night one of my dogs appeared depressed and refused to eat. Tonight 6 out of 15 had diminished appetites and one refused to eat. I'm uncertain about the cause of my problem. It may only be coincidental to opening a new batch of feed in that the dog who would not eat last night ate some tonight. Stools appear normal for the most part. These are mature dogs that have been field trialed up and down the Eastern seaboard so they have probably been exposed to and developed titers to just about everything. I'm leaning toward exposure to some sort of a short term off the wall viral thing that affects the digestive system. They are not febrile nor are they vomiting- not SICK, sick but not quite right. Any ideas?

Well, it turns out that both Redhen and I purchased our TOTW from Tractor Supply. She discarded her bags so we were unable to compare production codes. Since we are both on the East coast there is a possibility we got feed from the same lot. If things are not improved tomorrow, I'll be tossing a bunch of TOTW. Edited to add: Just did a search on TOTW to see if there were any recalls. Did everyone know that TOTW was manufactured by Diamond?

Last edited:
Just completed morning chores (have the frozen hands to prove this), and everything seems OK. The affected dogs passed some mucousy, loose stools but otherwise are alert and acting normally. I'm fairly convinced that this was related to some short term infectious GI problem. I had a fleeting similar problem 5 or 6 years ago. Vet said it was most likely some obscure undefined virus. This makes me happy because I really like the results I have achieved feeding TOTW. Redhen, hope all is going well with your dogs. Sourland George.