tough meat

tnrnolan

Hatching
Sep 17, 2015
I have been raising chickens for 8 years and almost every time we butcher, the meat is tough. Am I butchering the wrong kind of chicken? Not processing fast enough? Are they too old/young? We've butchered Brahmas, wellsummers, and black marans. Really just any good size rooster. We typically butcher at 7-8 mths. We want to eventually sell to the public but there's no way I'm selling tough meat. Please help!

The chickens you buy at the store are 6 to 8 WEEKS old. Your cockerels are 7 to 8 MONTHS old. That’s the difference. Veal (baby calf) is much more tender and much less tasty than an old beef. Suckling pig is much more tender and much less flavorful than an older hog. Baby chicks you buy at the grocery are much more tender and much less flavorful than a seven moth old cockerel.

How are you cooking them is an excellent question. The older meat gets (pork, beef, or poultry) the more you need to adjust how you cook it. You cannot fry a seven month old cockerel, it will be tough and dry out. You need to cook them slowly and with moisture. There are some threads about how to cook chicken at the start of the meat bird forum. It might be to your benefit to read those.

If you want to have chicken like you get at the store, you need to raise the broilers that you harvest at 6 to 8 weeks old. That may be what your customers want. It’s what they are probably used to.

do you let your chickens have a rest period before you cook them... they do have to go through the rigor mortise stage.
most people put them in a cooler with ice or put them in the fridge for 2 days then freeze or cook them...

Last edited: