Tractor vs. Free Range - a manure perspective

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by nateschisler, May 15, 2009.

1. nateschisler

nateschisler New Egg

Mar 21, 2009
    Lancaster, Oh
    Okay...as you will all see, I am quite the newbie. I have been studying this form at length for two months now in anticipation of my flock (25) of Cornish X's coming on the 18th. I went to Lowe's to buy materials to make a tractor, ended up walking out with a 10x14 all metal yard-barn. Before you all gasp and start to call me an idiot, it was laying on one of those blue cards, completely unboxed with a sign that said $50 (yes fifty, marked down from $650). Apparently the average Lowe's customer can't see past a disentigrated cardboard box to see a great deal.

So I have this 140 sf behemoth assembled and on a 4x6 frame in my back yard. My dilema is this. I had originally thought that I would make this basically an oversized "tractor", drag it around my garden, always strapping it down to some posts in the ground so it doesn't blow away. All this in an effort to avoid cleaning up manure. Now I'm contemplating planting the thing in one spot, and then construting a run that would be 10'x60'. My goal here is to allow the chickens to free range to an extent (health and feeling good about how I raise them) but also to keep the next 8-10 weeks simple.

Assuming they're in the chicken house at night, and I'm feeing them 12 on, 12 off, will this area handle 25 meaties or will it be devastated and manure-covered at the end of 2 months.

Thanks!

2. saddina

saddina Internally Deranged

May 2, 2009
    Desert, CA
    That's 600 outdoor feet / 25 birds = 24sqft per bird.

You should be fine I agree on the dislike for shoveling, but at most you may wanna rake it up and need to reseed after processing.

It's a killer deal on the shed, and you did the right thing man.

3. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada