treat question... please help

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by gavinandallison, Oct 19, 2010.

1. gavinandallison

gavinandallison Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 25, 2010
    Matthews, NC.
    okay I am new at chicken keeping - we have 5 lovely BR ladies ( one maybe a roo ) ..

anyways I have a problem , I love to feed things - be it a husband , dog or any thing really ... so I get these sweet baby birds they are 3 days old , I hold them love them and I think I may have spoiled them ... they are now 16 weeks old .....

Once they got old enough for treats ( I went by the Rasing Chickens for Dummys Book ) started giving the treats- tomatoes, grapes , mill worms and the other suggestions- my girls are picky , they like what they like and will turn up the beak if it is not what they like -

Well the little brats have started not eating as much feed as they should - and I think I have ruined them - I have cut back on the treats hoping they will dive into the chicken feed again and they do eat some but not very much . My question is do they go through times of eating less or have I truly failed as a chicken momma ?

2. jen5680

jen5680 Southside Silkie Shack

Jun 18, 2009
    SW Ohio
    Lots of treats are a no no!! It does make them not want to eat the regular food they should be and can cause problems with egg
    laying ect.
    I would cut out the treats all together for a while and see if they don't pick back up on the regular food.
    I no it is so fun to give them treats but try to stick with jsut the hubby and dogs. LOL!!
    Good luck!

3. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    Like kids who have become picky eaters, they will eat when they are hungry. Stick to your guns and watch.

4. Tropical Chook

Tropical Chook Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 5, 2010