Trickyphish's Intro

trickyphish

Hatching
7 Years
May 12, 2012
Hello All,

Here's my intro:
(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
I'm brand new to chickens. We started with 6 peeps (Amber Sex Links) that we bought at Tractor Supply in Clarion PA. We got them around Easter time. My son & I then attended ChickenFest @ Tractor Supply and we picked up 5 more.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
11 total chickens, & they are so cool.

(3) What breeds do you have?
6 Amber Sex Links
1 Blue Cochin
1 White Silkie
1 Easter Egger
1 Olive Egger
1 Red Production

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?
I found this site when I started researching what I got myself into and needed to make sure I was doing the "right" stuff. I find myself here quite often; usually researching: Coop's / Health / Treats / Breeds, etc.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
We bought this house about 5 years ago and have remodeled it. We have a barn and several out buildings. They are all in need of some updating / facelifts, and these things are my hobbies. We also enjoy hunting / fishing / camping and just about anything outdoors. I consider myself a "jack of all trades" and a master of none. I love to tinker and re-cycle / re-use just about anything!

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.
My Wife and I have been married for 17 years. Our oldest is 16 and she's starting to drive (Yikes!), and our son is 8 and is full of adventure. We have a Chocolate Lab, Karma & 3 cats Molly, Pete & Nacho. My wife & daughter are animal lovers to the core, so the thought of possibly eating these chickens later in life is very unappealing to them. I think these birds are awesome too, but..... I do intend to use them for both eggs and meat. Time will tell.

WelcometoBYC.gif

Hello and :welcome

Glad things have been going well for you so far on the chicken front.