Trying to gain knowledge before we pick up chicks!!! Help!!!

tancurls

In the Brooder
8 Years
Apr 16, 2011
Huntington Beach
We are parents to a one and a half year old little boy. After much consideration we have decided on two chicks.
jumpy.gif
We are looking for first off very friendly breed. We also are looking for egg layers. Any tips on what breeds fit this description? Any we should not get? We have a garden that is 40 square feet and we are looking to build a coop in the garden. Any recommendations as far a hutch verses coop? I think I want to do river sand bottom sounds so much cleaner. Any info or tips would be helpful!!!
Thank you
Almost a chick momma

I'm no expert; I'm just on my first flock that's 5 weeks old, but I did a lot of research and talked to several friends who have chickens. I have small kids, too, and didn't want aggressive or flighty birds. I ended up with black australorps- very good producers and calm. They let my kids pick them up and hold them like babies.
smile.png
Buff orpingtons are also supposed to be very docile (and I think they're just beautiful, too). My understanding is that they lay pretty well, but not as good as a high producer like an australorp or sex link. You can go to the top of the page and click on the "breeds" tab and it will give you a good rundown of breeds and their "specs". And I'm sure that there are others here who are much more experienced and will have some other suggestions.

I'm still working on the coop myself, but I think I want sand in my run as well. It just seems a lot cleaner and easier to deal with.

Have fun with your chicks!
big_smile.png

I was going to suggest buff orpingtons as well - out of the 6 I have - they are all sweet births but my buff is the calmest & my little ones really love her. I also love how pretty they are when grown - but you know the black sex-link that we have (which is a good layer as well) is also very sweet & good with the kids.

Last edited: