Turkey Size Question

bigredfeather

Songster
11 Years
Oct 1, 2008
Yorkshire, Ohio
I am doing some turkeys for the first time this year. I will be preselling them to my broiler customers for Thanksgiving. I will be receiving 9 poults( 3 Blue Slate, 3 bourbob Red, and 3 Bronze). As of now, I have them scheduled for delivery the first week of August. My plan is to run them with my broiler for the first 8 weeks, then move them to a fenced pasture area with a field shelter until the week before Thanksgiving, when they will be processed. I will likely feed them my 23% broiler feed all the way thru.
Now for my questions. Any idea about how big I can expect these turkeys to get doing them this way? And, about how much feed could I expect them to eat (trying to get an idea of how much I will have in them).
Thanks.

I am not a turkey expert, but they will not be very big by then. Most heritage breeds take 6-8 month to reach full size. I think you should switch to a broad breasted type instead. Last year we raised some BBB (broad breasted bronze) that we got the first week of August. We feed 28% for the first 2 months then dropped to 20% and they were in the 12-15 lb range by thanksgiving. The BBW will grow bigger faster though.

Do some research over in the turkey section if your havent yet. It's not advisable to have them on grass before 6-8 weeks, or to raise them with chickens.

We raised bronze breasted last year. Had one male and one female. We raised them on the same feed we fed our chickens. We got them in June and by 4months the male was 50lbs when I butchered it. We waited another month for the female, and she was 35lbs.