Two questions, five weeks after the birth

goffeur33

In the Brooder
Aug 6, 2020
Bourg sur Gironde (France)
Hi there,
This is my first post and join this forum because I'm new in this hobby.
I start getting my first pullet four months ago. The day after she was gone by opening the wire mesh of the home made coop.
After fixing and consolidate the coop, I bought two hens because I understood that the hen was lonely. And finally the first hen came back.
I won't tell all the story but I have 3 hens. Two months ago, one was brooding with no egg under. My nice neighbour gave me a fertilized egg that I put under (indeed 3 eggs). Then 5 weeks ago, a cute baby chick is born. (an other one was killed by a jalous hen - my mistake)
I followed the first week with my camera (here is a YouTube link of a small video for those who could be interested:
).
Today, the mum still take car of the baby and everything is fine but I'm hurried to know what will happen soon.
Here is my 2 questions :
1- Is it possible to know the gender of a 5 weeks old chick?
2- When will the mum lay again? (because for the moment I only have 2 eggs per day, even less with the heat)

Thanks in advance for your answers. I hope I'm understandable because of my basic English.
Cheers everybody,
Goffeur

Attachments

• mum & chick.jpg
    mum & chick.jpg
    67.9 KB · Views: 22
If you don't have the heart to kill him for meat (if it does indeed turn out to be a male) you may have some success rehoming.
Or keep him.
Do you want a cockerel in your flock?
They can be useful, and really sweet.
Wait until he is older before deciding to keep him, as hormones can cause them to become aggressive, and it could be hard on both you and the hens.

I love eating chicken but I can't kill my first baby, it was so stressful to take care of him during the first weeks - we have around 3 aldult cats, but the main problem was the two other hens, so agressive - I had to put a cage inside the coop for the night.