ugh 2 chicks dead already

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by dragonmorgan, Mar 2, 2013.

1. dragonmorgan

dragonmorgan Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 25, 2012
    South Alabama
    I dont know what is happening to my chicks. We picked then up last week and have already lost 2. I know it happens sometimes but i wish i knew what was wrong. They've been drinking electrolyte water since they got home and the 2 seemed fine. Next thing ya know they ate all weak and floppy and 10 mins later they are dead. Am i doin something wrong?

2. MainePoultry

MainePoultry Out Of The Brooder

Feb 2, 2013
    Maine
    I am by no means a chicken expert, but Ive read recently you can overdose your chicks on the electrolyte water. ( not to say that is the case) It might just be so mething you can watch out for. Im getting my first chicks on the 12th so good luck to us both!

3. jak2002003

jak2002003 Overrun With Chickens

Oct 24, 2009
    Thailand
    Yes you don't need to give electrolytes in the water for 2 weeks. They are only to be used if they chicks are recovering form illness or sometimes people use them for the first couple days when the new chicks arrive (to help them recover from the stress of transport).

Have you checked the temperatures are correct day and night? Also do any of the other chicks seem ill or acting strange?

You only need to feed chicks starter crumbs and give fresh water every day - several times if it gets dirty.

Sorry to hear about the chicks that died.

4. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    What is your brooder temperature? What are you feeding them? Have you checked for pasty butt (poop stuck to and clogging up their vents)?

5. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member