Understanding Chicken Coop Behavior

adamsmba

In the Brooder
Apr 30, 2016
First let me say, I am brand new to this. I have 3 Silkie Bantams and 1 Americauna that are 12 weeks old in a coop and 2 Buff Orpington's that are 2 weeks old (these are not in the coop yet). I bought the cool 2 story condo coop with the expansion pen, put chicken wire all on the bottom and around the edges on the ground to keep out any predators. The 4 chickens are roosting all night every night on a roost in the expansion pen. The ladder going to the 2nd story is often used for perching but they NEVER seem to go inside where I have a tray layered with shredded pine mulch. There is a screened window for ventilation on the 2nd story, and I have removed the nesting boxes (I read somewhere on here that I should until they were almost 5 months old). I'm concerned that they never go inside, and that once I do place the nesting boxes that they will never go there to lay their eggs. Someone local had told me I should be "locking them inside the coop" at night, but there is no door to do this. I guess I could make something. Am I worrying over nothing, or am I doing something wrong? I am really enjoying the experience, but definitely feeling a little out of my league with knowledge. Any help is appreciated. Thank you.

welcome-byc.gif

Can you post a picture of your coop and run so we can see your set up?

Silkies sometimes have a hard time figuring out a ramp
hmm.png
. Since they're already roosting, I think you should be able to go out at night, after they're roosting, and move them to the roosts in the coop. I don't think you'll need to lock them in, once you put them there they'll probably stay put. They don't like to move around in the dark much. You may have to do it for a few days. If you can, watch them exit down the ramp and see if they seem to have trouble using it (too steep, etc).