Unexpectedly came home with 2 newbies!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by lswatson111304, Oct 22, 2011.

1. lswatson111304

lswatson111304 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 18, 2009
    Milano, TX
    So we have some baby chickies in the brooder. We started today to make their coop. We got it 90% finished and had to run to town. On the way there I somehow convinced my husband to stop buy the guys place the we bought the babies from. I asked if he had any hens that are laying, or are getting close to. He had a few. These 2 I fell in love with their coloring. They are totally mixed, so not sure if that makes it harder to know anything about them.
    I am new to chickens, don't know much about these, but just want to make sure they are girls! LOL I sure hope so. I have no idea their age, just that he says they are close to laying, and I think he said that one of them from the same "batch" had already started? Not 100% if he was talking about these specific ones, I was just so excited to be back there around all his birds, and babies and yeah...I'm silly. I know.
    So pretty much if you can tell me anything about them, let me have it!
    Oh, and please excuse the coop, its still not finished, and I need to pick them up some pine shavings. I ran out when cleaning the brooder. I tossed a pillow in there in case they wanted somewhere soft to rest.
    [​IMG]

2. Olive Hill

Olive Hill Overrun With Chickens

Apr 19, 2009
    Yes, they're females.

3. Carolyn

Carolyn Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 6, 2008
    They are pretty little hens! Are they bantams? The one on the right looks like she is at least part Old English Game (but I am no expert). I am thinking you may still have a bit of a wait before they lay.
    Chickens are so addicting aren't they?

4. lswatson111304

Sep 18, 2009
    Milano, TX
    YAY! Thanks!