UPDATED: Multiple deaths. Help Needed

ia02

Chirping
Aug 4, 2015
Greetings,

I'm new to chickens and have been having great fun with these girls, until recently. I started with a group of 5 chickens, about 2 weeks old. They are now 10 weeks old and I am now down to 3. I suspect I may be down to 2 by morning. The symptoms observed before the death of each bird are similar, but the time between the onset of symptoms and death is different. Below are all the relevant facts as far as I can tell. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance for reading this long post, I wanted to try to present the whole situation.

I purchased the birds at approximately 2-3 weeks of age at a feed store. At the time of purchase I was told they were vaccinated for Marek's. I kept the birds inside until they were driving each other crazy indoors and they were physically large enough to safely be in the coop, maybe 6-7 weeks old. I then moved the chickens to the coop. The coop was inherited from the previous owner of my home. The previous owner had 3 adult chickens in the coop and free ranging in the yard. Prior to moving the chickens to the coop I cleaned it as well as I could without using chemical disinfectants. Replaced all bedding, scrubbed all food/water related items with soap and water.

A few weeks after being put in the coop I noticed one of the chickens acting odd. The bird was spending most of it's time away from the others, appeared a bit fluffy, had its head tucked often (neck not extended) and eventually was laying down a bit. The symptoms were intermittent though so I didn't think much of it. She was still drinking and I assume she was still eating. This went on a few days until one evening I found her dead. Based on the research I've done I suspected coccidiosis, although the chicks have been on medicated starter feed since they were a day old. At this time the remaining chickens showed no symptoms whatsoever.