video gamers- grand theft auto?

klf73

Mad Scientist
14 Years
Jun 1, 2008
Maine
My son, who is turning 12 on the 28th, really wants Grand Theft Auto. He has been asking for it for 2 years. We heard horrible things about this game so we always told him no. With his birthday coming up he is asking again. I know that a lot of the kids he goes to school with play this game and a lot of parents don't really look into these before buying(I sold quite a few when I worked in retail a few years ago, even though I told them the game was inappropriate for a 9yo
hmm.png
) Anyway, my dh asked the guys he is deployed with for their take on this game and they said the newer ones did horrible things. They also said the older ones aren't that bad, is this true? And if so which is the most mild version? He only recently has been allowed to play call of duty and loves planes, tanks etc (probably result of growing up an army brat) but this is the game he ALWAYS begs for.... so are any versions more "mild"?

oh, and we have an xbox 360, if I find an older title for the regular xbox will that work in our system? Funny, I used to be a big video game geek, now I know absolutely nothing!

All the older ones are for ps2... (Like vice city, 2 and 3, san andreas) As far as I know the only one for 360 is the one your talking about. But Im not a huge gamer so I dont know 100%. I have played it before and I like it but my mom wont let me get it either.( good thing for friends;).)

"The older ones aren't that bad"

If the older ones aren't that bad I couldn't imagine what goes on in the newer versions. I've played this game in the past(3or 4 years ago). It's not a game I would want my 12 year old to play. You can visit strip clubs that have girls doing pole dances, pay hookers to get into a car you've stolen (watch as the car shakes...wonder what is happening), and many other things that are inappropriate for kids.

Last edited: