Weirdness with waterglassed eggs??

TheGuruOfNothing

Hatching
Jun 10, 2023
I am new to the whole waterglassing thing, though not new to the raising of chickens thing. We sold our flock and moved to a new rural area and have been buying local chicken and duck eggs to support the youngsters who are selling them for side money. We started waterglassing the chicken eggs end of last year and are now about 4 dozen into the collection. Does anyone know if the weak yoke is from the chickens or is it from the waterglassing? I have about 1 in 4 that the yoke breaks immediately upon cracking the shell and 1 in 4 that the yoke membrane is tougher than I have ever experienced in a chicken egg. We used to feed our chickens high quality feed and we had really consistent eggs but we never waterglassed them so I have no frame of reference. I don't want to use the thin yolk eggs if it is something that the waterglassing is causing. I have had a couple that smelled wrong so decided it was time to question my results. I am using 8oz to a quart of the slaked lime, keeping them in a very cool and mostly dark location in my root cellar and these eggs have been in solution for approx 8 months.

I am not an expert on water-glassing eggs, but have read much on the subject. I also followed a few threads on that subject.
In general,, The egg yolks do get somewhat weaker in time of water-glassing. Most peeps use their eggs as scrambled, or use in cooking, and baking. Many also cycle their eggs, and use the older ones, while storing the fresh ones. This way they do not end up with many old eggs. Just a note; from reading threads,, some peeps kept their eggs for one year, and eggs were still good.

I have a question. About this sentence.
I am using 8oz to a quart of the slaked lime,
I am slightly confused by this. Everyone that I knew, used hydrated pickling lime to do their eggs. So I'm not sure your method is the right way to do this. It may, be, but need more explanation.:idunno