welsummer size?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by steward, Sep 11, 2009.

1. steward

steward Out Of The Brooder

May 10, 2009
    Just wondering, my welsummer pullets are 17 weeks now and my barred rock pullets are 4and a half weeks younger, they are nearly the same size. These are my first wellies, and they seem small. Are they slow growing? I looked at the expected size and they don't look like they will reach it. I have had EEs,BAs,production reds,and SLWs.Also have some new white leghorns. As long as they, lay size really won't matter. Thanks!

2. Goose and Fig

Goose and Fig Grateful Geese

Apr 19, 2009
    Fall Creek Falls TN
    They won't be as big as say- Australorps- but they'll lay beautiful dark eggs. I'm just starting out with some too. Can't wait until they fill out and start laying!

3. EweSheep

EweSheep Flock Mistress

Jan 12, 2007
    Land of Lincoln
    In my case, they bloom slow but they will get there. However they will not be big as Barred Rocks.

4. Tailfeathers

Tailfeathers Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 31, 2007
    Washington State
    they won't be quite as big a bird as a Barred Rock as long as you're comparing apples to apples. In other words, don't compare a hatchery/production/utility/pet-quality bird with a breeder's bird. Many folks are amazed when they see a true SQ bird compared to the other.

Also, keep in mind that you are looking at two different feather configurations. The Welsummers feathering will lay much closer to the bird that does a Barred Rock.

God Bless,

5. pinkchick

pinkchick "Ain't nuttin' like having da' blues"

May 30, 2008
    Washington State