We're getting eggs - now what?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by dtsnyder, Jan 28, 2009.

1. dtsnyder

dtsnyder Out Of The Brooder

Jan 5, 2009
    First of all, I'm new to raising chickens and fairly new to BYC (y'all helped me with some rooster problems a few weeks ago - thanks!).

I apologize for not obeying the cardinal rule of msg boards and searching through the threads for answers - I've got a toddler who won't "let" me.

So, after 5 1/2 months of feeding our Barred Rocks (20 hens, 2 roos), one has decided to reciprocate and has provided us "food" for the past three days. We finally are getting eggs!

I have a few questions on what to do next.

1) I remember reading about oyster shells - do we need to get those and how do we feed them?

2) I currently have 2 more bags of chick grower - should I return it and get layer or can I feed out these two bags?

3) Will the eggs always be on the smallish side or will they get bigger as the hens get older? I assumed they were "large brown eggs" and these are definately not large

4) We have 2 roos - one is the clear "alpha". Is it okay to keep both (we recently got rid of 3 others) or should we downsize. And what would it do to the laying habits if we got rid of both?

5) We live in MT and temps have been dipping into the negatives at night (and sometimes during the day) so we've been using heat lamps on those days. Is this okay? When we don't use heat, the coop can get down to 15F and I'm not sure if that's too cold. But I also worry about providing heat/light and it messing up their laying habits.

6) How long will it take for all of the hens to start laying? I'm almost positive we only have one (maybe, possibly two) laying right now.

This has certainly been a fun adventure - just trying to learn the ropes so we do everything correctly.

Thanks in advance!
    -Tami

2. crazyhen

crazyhen Overrun With Chickens

Aug 26, 2008
    mtns of ,NC.