What Age to Let Chicks Walk Around in Garden

Henchickkk15

In the Brooder
Jun 1, 2016
Hello everyone!
I am new to chicks, although I have had chickens before, but I have a question about letting them wonder around supervised. They are about 5 days old now, and I am wondering at what age, if I am watching them, can I let them walk around in the grass and in the garden a bit.
Thank you!

Usually in the 80s. I wouldn't let them walk around if it was 60 degrees. I am just trying to see if it is okay to do that. Like can their stomachs handle it.

I would say yes their stomachs can handle it. As long as temps are good.
Mom chickens bring their chicks out and 2-3 days old and they forage everywhere she goes. And eat whatever she eats. 4 days old mine were running around with worms because they are with their mother. Out eating grass and whatever they want :)

I would say yes their stomachs can handle it. As long as temps are good.
Mom chickens bring their chicks out and 2-3 days old and they forage everywhere she goes. And eat whatever she eats. 4 days old mine were running around with worms because they are with their mother. Out eating grass and whatever they want
smile.png
agreed

You are getting great advice.

At the age of your chicks, your biggest worry is going to be weather related...well putting predators and those types of threats outside the box for a moment.

I'd just add, make sure that they have access to some sort of grit. At that age a scoop of play sand in the area they will be exploring should be fine. They will instinctively pick it up as they explore, but if you want you can peck at it with your fingers, and if they are accustomed to your presence, they'll run over to see what you are "pecking " at, and pick it up then.

It's fun to babysit chicks, you'll have a fun time.