What breed for egg laying?

Pics
I am new to raising chickens and today I completed the finishing touches on my chicken coop and run. I am anticipating ordering my first chickens in the next few weeks but I am clueless as to what breed to purchase. For my initial chickens, I want them for egg laying. I live in central North Carolina and we have four distinct seasons -- hot summers and moderate winters. Do you have any suggestions as to what breed that I should purchase for my purpose?

I am new to raising chickens and today I completed the finishing touches on my chicken coop and run. I am anticipating ordering my first chickens in the next few weeks but I am clueless as to what breed to purchase. For my initial chickens, I want them for egg laying. I live in central North Carolina and we have four distinct seasons -- hot summers and moderate winters. Do you have any suggestions as to what breed that I should purchase for my purpose?
Leghorns are good, they lay lots of white eggs. Sex-Links are also pretty good, but usually succumb to reproductive issues after 2 years. There are also breeds that will lay a few less eggs but will stay healthy and lay for years. Here are some:
Orpington. Very docile, lays lots of large brown eggs. Cold-hardy, and moderately heat-tolerant.
Australorp. Also very docile, lay lots of large brown eggs. An Australorp hen holds the world record for most eggs laid in a year, but most hens won't be too close to the amount that hen laid. Cold hardy, and more heat-tolerant than Orps.
Rock. Docile, lays lots of light pinkish tan eggs, cold-hardy and heat-tolerant.
Dorking. Lays lots of big white eggs, docile, and cold-tolerant. Somewhat heat tolerant. Comes in rose and single comb varieties.