1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

What breed she is?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by EasyPeasyJpaneezy, Jan 25, 2011.

1. EasyPeasyJpaneezy

EasyPeasyJpaneezy New Egg

Jan 25, 2011
    Hi All

I am new to this backyard chickens thing.

I have an Isa brown hen and mystrious hen. Still quite young.

She is standard size. Her feathers are white except some light brown feathers on the chest. She looks like just another Isa Brown with white feather.

I have suspected White Leghorn but she lays smaller brown eggs compared to my other hen, which is Isa brown. She is actually bigger than the other hen but lays smaller bown eggs. On the other hand, my Isa brown lays lighter larger eggs. It does not make sense to me....

She is a bossy shy girl. She does not let us pet her unlike Isa Brown.

She has no interest in jumping or flying.

Can anyone help me finding what breed she is? I am new to owning chickens and have no clue.
    I have made a webpage and uploaded some photos of her and eggs.

Thanks for reading!!

Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  2. Kassaundra

Kassaundra Sonic screwdrivers are cool!

Sep 1, 2010
    Henryetta
    First [​IMG]

I don't know what kind of chicken she is, but those are some funny looking eggs! [​IMG] Has the photo been manipulated? or are they really that shape?

3. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    She's a mutt/crossbreed, likely a cross of a Leghorn and something with duckwing coloration.

4. draye

draye Overrun With Chickens

Nov 30, 2010
    Arkansas
    I have never seen the Isa Brown so maybe that is what she is other than that she is just a crossbred chicken. Eggsize may improve with age. How old is she?

5. magicpigeon

magicpigeon Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 9, 2010