what bulb wattage would be considered natural light?

blink111

In the Brooder
10 Years
Jun 26, 2009
Good morning all...
Quick question for all u experts out there. Some of the birds in my flock are beginning to loose an increasing amount of feathers. It's especially noticed on the neck. I'm thinking this is because of a natural molt. There is some pecking within the flock and occassionaally someone will emerge with a couple of downy feathers in their beak. I read that additional lighting during fall and winter would eleviate this problem. I really am not liking the tattered look
sad.png
. Besides it's gonna be winter soon won't they need all the feathers they can get for warmth? Newbie here(guess u can tell that by my juvie posts;)
Does it sound like I'm on the right trck here? Any comments welcome and appreciated!

They are going through a molt. Different things can trigger it but the normal one is that the days get shorter. Juveniles go through several molts while growing up, but adults usually molt once a year. Throughout the year the feathers get worn out or broken, so nature has come up with the molt as the way to renew their feathers and get them looking good again. If it is the first adult molt, the eggs will be bigger when they start laying again. It is perfectly natural. I don't think you can stop it once it has started. This link tells you a lot about it.

Mississippi State describes molting
http://msucares.com/poultry/management/poultry_feathers.html

Some people, including the commercial egg producers, use artificial lights to extend the chickens day so they will keep laying through the winter. What wattage you would need would depend on the size of your coop. It does not take a lot. I've heard it described as just enough that you can read a newspapaer.