What do I do when the eggs start hatching?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by KatLacroix, Sep 5, 2009.

1. KatLacroix

KatLacroix Out Of The Brooder

Sep 5, 2009
    Hi, I am new to chickens

Do I just leave the hatching eggs with the hen, and they will fully break through their shell?

The nest is around 4 1/2 feet off the ground, won't it hurt them if they try to jump off when mom takes them for their first walk?

2. Hangin Wit My Peeps

Hangin Wit My Peeps AutumnBreezeChickens.com

Apr 20, 2008
    Birnamwood, Wisconsin
    Has mom been a mom before? Are they with the other hens? If so watch them VERY close...many babies are ate by other hens. Don't worry about the fall...mommy will usually wait until they are ready. What you could do though if your worried is put a bunch of pine shavings or straw below to break their fall and give them something soft to land on. They will eventually just jump out. And no...when a hen lays on the eggs she will help them out if they need help. It's amazing but they are so smart when it comes to their babies especially a hen who has done it before. Just give her privacy and let her do her job...soon you will see baby chicks sticking their heads out from under her wings. SO CUTE! I learned the hard way though and now separate my broodies and eggs from all other hens. My last batch all got ate [​IMG]

3. KatLacroix

Sep 5, 2009
    Thank you.

I have 4 hens, and none of them have ever been mommys.

Mommy should be isolated from the other hens? Where, though?

4. Hangin Wit My Peeps

Apr 20, 2008
    Birnamwood, Wisconsin