What do I have?

moarsaraplz

Hatching
6 Years
Nov 9, 2013
Kootenays, BC
Hello everyone :) I am pretty new to chickens, and received these 4 as a sort-of "gift" from some family members, much to my surprise! I am curious if what we were told is accurate, as they are very pretty birds! You folks seem to be pretty knowledgeable about chickens, so why not start here?!

We were told that these were "Crevecoeur" chickens, and that we had 2 Roosters and 2 hens.
The 4 are comprised of the white one in the first picture, the black one in the second picture(there is another one that is identical to this second one, without the wattles, but has a comb), and the one in the third picture(who has a rather nice plume, but no comb or wattle). These are the clearest pictures I have managed to get, as they're still warming up to me, but I have plenty more I can provide if needed of them scampering away lol. I want to add that I really enjoy these guys! They're really mellow, they get along well with each other, and like to roost up in really high places compared to others I've been around.

I am curious, because the White Fellow is being claimed as a Crevie, and I thought they were supposed to be black? The other three are very beautiful, with gorgeous tails and a wonderful deep blue that the camera does not do justice. I love these birds, but it's eating away at me whether they're correctly sexed or not? ETA: and if they are, in fact, Crevecours. I noticed after rechecking the pictures, that you can't really see the feet, and that seems to be mentioned a lot in Crevie descriptions. Their feet are blue, except the white fellow! Not sure if that is important or not, but something I noticed, nonetheless haha!

Last edited:
I don't think they can be Crevecoeurs as they have the wrong comb type...Crevecoeurs have "V-shaped" combs with crest and beards. And yes, my understanding is they are only black.

Lady of McCamley