1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

What do people do with pine shavings?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Huskerchickens, May 24, 2011.

1. Huskerchickens

Huskerchickens Out Of The Brooder

May 24, 2011
    All,
    I'm pretty new to the chicken game and I'm currently using pine wood shavings in my coop. I'm curious as to what others who use wood shavings do with them after a clean out. I'm not very experienced with compost, and I'm not sure if it's too much wood to try and turn into compost/fertilizer. I'm also guessing there's not an easy way to seperate out the droppings from the shavings to reduce some of the volume.

I've also seen lots of posts where people were incredibly happy with switching to sand, so maybe I should go that route when I use up the last of my shavings? Thanks!

2. ADozenGirlz

ADozenGirlz The Chicken Chick[IMG]emojione/assets/png/00ae.png

Oct 18, 2009
    Connecticut
    I toss the shavings right into the compost pile, which consists exclusively of shavings, droppings and lawn clippings. It's a dream in the garden every year!

3. cackydoodledoo

cackydoodledoo Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 7, 2011
    Crazyville, USA
    I throw mine in my compost pile. Makes for some great composting material!

4. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

I just take the shavings or the straw out to the garden and pile it up on one end.

In fall and early spring, I spread them out and till them in. I don't sweat it and don't do "conventional" composting at all. I've got a million other things to do. I can tell you that the chicken litter makes wonderful, natural soil amendment and grows vegetables very well.

5. cackydoodledoo

cackydoodledoo Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 7, 2011