what do you do with strictly egg layers?

chkinut

Songster
9 Years
Feb 25, 2010
Leesburg, Ohio
i'm new to researching processing birds. we are just starting this year with 2 Cornish X just to see how it goes. (we are very small scale....lol) but i'm curious....you hear people talk about strictly meaties, or going the DP route. but what do you do with strictly egg layers when they are "spent" and need to be replaced by younger egg layers? i'm talkin about the Leghorns etc. heck, i've had EE who are scrawny, but are great layers of jumbo eggs. what would you do with a small bird? process it anyway and use 2 of them for one meal? use 1 and stretch it by putting it in a stew?
hu.gif
also,i get attached to my layers cuz they're around for awhile. any hints as to how NOT to get attached?

Last edited:
Spent layers make good stew hens. Even the "scrawny ones" make good dumplings and chicken noodle soup.
The last ones I processed were ground up to make ground chicken. Makes a good chicken hamburger.

For not getting (too!) attached, always remember your birds, even the layers have two purposes (or more), and one of them is to provide food. Know that most will meet their end through you or someone you hire to process them.

Treat them kindly, enjoy their company, but know their days are ultimately numbered. It is also helpful if you keep enough birds of the same type that very few of them stand out as individuals. Yes, you will have a few that are instantly recognizable and possibly full of personality, but the more that are 'just another of the flock' the easier it is.

And on the day, briefly thank them for providing for you and carry them quickly to their end.