What do you use? Sand vs. Pine Shavings

samandemsmommy

Chirping
5 Years
Jul 14, 2014
Hickory, NC
Ok- my chicks are not quite ready for the big kid coop--but they will be in about another 3 weeks. What does everyone use? I am leaning towards sand in the coop but what's your experience? My plan is to have a ladder style roost with a rubbermaid (flat, under bed style) tub under the roosting ladder to catch droppings to make it a bit easier to clean. would you do pine shavings in the coop and sand in the tub under the roost- so I can sift it like kitty litter-- or sand in the entire coop, or what? Thoughts please! For the run- I feel like I just want to leave it like it is- plain old grass/dirt.

I'm new to raising chickens too but our girls have been in their coop for about a month and I love sand! We have it in the whole coop for the summer but are considering using shaving on the floor when it turns cold. We have a droppings board with a 2 inch lip that is covered in sand with some Sweet PDZ mixed in under their roost. One day I counted how many droppings were on the floor versus the board when I scooped them in the morning. There was something like 8 little pieces on the floor and 48 on the board. I haven't counted since but we often have less on the floor than that. Very effective and very easy to clean with a litter scoop! Make sure to use construction sand, not play sand (too much dust) :)

Last edited:
@autumnhearth- any chance you can post a picture of your roost set up?

This shot was taken after their first night, they don't poop so much in the corner anymore, I can get a better shot if you need one. The shelf is a board screwed to two heavy duty brackets that are screwed to the studs on the back wall. The lip is a 2x2 nailed to the board and the perch is made by 2x2s as well, it has feet that are nailed to the board. I think the husband used both nails and glue to join the vertical part of the stand to the horizontal parts.