What is the best wire to use......

Jolyn

Songster
11 Years
Apr 5, 2008
Northern California
Dh will be starting the run for my chicks this week and he's wondering what your experience has been with the types of wire. Should he stick to the traditional hexagon chicken wire or the no climb wire? Or do you have any other suggestions in light of predators and such.

Also i am curious....We are going to put a wire roof on it too....but how high can the birds fly. I see some runs that are just about three feet high. Could they get out of that if they wanted to? I mean obviously some roosts i have seen are higher than that so they must be able to go pretty high.

Thanks for any info,
Jodie

Last edited:
Well, im no expert but, my silkies can only fly up 1,2 feet into the air...but it depends if you clip there wings, if not then i guess 5-7 feet would be great...
I hope i helped!

We used 2 layers of chicken wire and staggered it to make the holes half the size. Held it with zip ties and then attatched it. That's how we did our windows. The square mesh is better but it costs alot more. Raccoons and whatnot can totally stick their arms thru regular chickenwire and grab one.

For what it's worth, I long ago quit using the chicken wire and the 2X4 welded wire. It was a waste of money for me. I use only the 2X4 no climb wire that is 60 inches tall. I have not had a problem with the chicks getting over the top of it. For me, it's money well spent and lasts a life time as compared to the other stuff. Added to that, the predators don't like it at all. Makes things tough for them.

Another question real quick......Do predators usually strike at night? Do racoon's, coyotes and fox usually just hang out at night? My hens will be locked in their coop at night so should i worry as much about the predators coming around during the day....I'm home most days too so there is movement around here.

Last edited: