What Model Incubator For Newbie?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by goosemama, Oct 20, 2009.

1. goosemama

goosemama Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 11, 2009
    Forestville, New York
    Am reviewing various incubators online/Ebay/Amazon and various companies. What is important in an incubator for a Newbie? Air circulator? auto turning? elec. thermometer? HELP!! I need some guidance.
    Thanks
    Linda

2. Tam'ra of Rainbow Vortex

Tam'ra of Rainbow Vortex Chillin' With My Peeps

Best advice I can give is DO NOT GET A LITTLE GIANT!!! Out of 32 eggs (in 2 batches) I have one chick. And its a boy [​IMG] beyond that, I don't know. I wish I had asked that question instead of just buying what my local farm supply store had in stock. Trust me, no matter how cheap you get it, the little giant is NOT worth the space it takes up.

3. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop
    I'm a newbie to this too, I'm on Day 18 of my first hatch. I have a hovabator 1602N with the auto turner. So far, I'm thrilled with it. It holds temperature really well. We'll see in a few days how it does with hatching. [​IMG]

4. neferset

neferset Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 23, 2009
    Western North Carolina
    My cat opened me front door this morning in freezing weather. The Little Giants dropped 5 degrees in temperature. The Hovabator stayed as steady as a rock.

5. TaLani

TaLani ~ Gemini Chick ~

Oct 2, 2008
    Bryson City, NC
    Definitely get one with a fan and auto egg turner. A lot of people have good luck with their Little Giant brand, but most will tell you that the Hovabators are better (I have 3 Hovas). The best price around on a brand new bator is www.cutlersupply.com. Some people are not aware of the price of a new bator and pay the same on ebay for a used one, sad really. Whatever you do, don't get the little yellow dome one that'll hatch 3 chicken eggs. Good luck to you on your purchase! [​IMG]

6. goosemama