What to do when you go away?

MBH

In the Brooder
Oct 14, 2017
Hi I am new to owning chickens we have 3 girls 1 Americana and 2 Olive Eggers (we think!). They are just 6 months old and only 1 is laying (or was until the days became too short). My question is what to do when you go away?? We have a small coop with 2 egg boxes and an inner run that leads to a bigger 5msq run full fenced. We want to go away for 5 days but have never left the girls unattended we usually check their water and food each morning and night when we open the coop door to the rest of the run. Is it ok to leave them with the coop door open the whole time and leave them two water sources and two food sources..?? Will the food attract predators? Are they ok with that coop door open if it's only 5c at night? Any advice would be great! * we do let them free range most days when we are home*

:welcome I use a licensed pet caretaker. Prior to the first trip she came to the house and I showed her what to do. I leave a detailed instruction sheet, and she is very dependable. You might also try contacting your local 4 H and getting the name of a recommended kid with animal care experience. I think that leaving them unattended for 5 days might lead to heartbreak.

Shoot I was wondering that, I got a quote and it's $30/ day for someone to come since it would be 2x per day once to let them out then let them in.

Shoot I was wondering that, I got a quote and it's $30/ day for someone to come since it would be 2x per day once to let them out then let them in.
Do you have any neighbors you can trust? Or close friends? I am worried about the same thing--told my husband we could only go away for a weekend.

My chickens free range and we live out in the woods and rarely have a problem with predators, so when we leave for vacation sometimes, we just leave food and water down. Or you can get a pet sitter or have neighbors, friends, or family check up on them.