What Would You Do? Advice/Options/Similar Stories

The Chickens' Maid

Crowing
14 Years
May 2, 2009
CT
Hi everyone! I haven't posted on here since pre-covid! It's great to be back!

Here's my question: I have been keeping chickens for about 17 years now and I'm down to my three little musketeers who live in an aviary in my house. They are all bantams (two hens and a roo), and the little ladies are quite old. Due to life circumstances that are beyond my control, I will have to be out of the country for very long periods of time for the foreseeable future. Obviously, I want to make sure that my babies are safe and happy while I'm gone.
I would prefer to pay to board them long term at someone's house like you would a cat or a dog, but of course there aren't a lot of people who are as comfortable as I am having chickens, much less a rooster, in their house. Outside full-time isn't an option because they can't handle the cold temperatures, and frankly they are house pets - it would be the same as putting a pampered lap dog out in a kennel full-time. (I see you broiler-keepers rolling your eyes, don't come for me😂)
My other option is to give them away to a good home. It would absolutely kill me to do that, since these are my babies and I don't want to just abandon them. The only way I could ever even think about giving them away would be if I knew beyond a doubt that their new home would give them a better life than I could (and that's a high bar🙂). So I need other options or ideas and/or reassurance😅. Thoughts? Thank you! (btw I'm in central CT if that helps)

edit: I'm not exactly sure where to put this, so if the mods want it somewhere else, just let me know.

You could get someone local to come in once or twice a day to feed and check on them? Then they can stay in their own environment. It could be someone experienced with chickens or someone you teach how to care for them. Perhaps a retired person or a college student?