What's a good "starter goat"?

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by Granolamom, Jan 21, 2009.

1. Granolamom

Granolamom Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 9, 2008
    Dallas
    8 months ago we entered "chicken world", which has been a wonderful experience and has naturally led us to wanting more animals. We are considering getting 2 goats, and are wondering, what would be a good breed for absolute beginners. I like the idea of eventually having milk goats, but due to my job, which takes me away from home 3 days per week, that won't be in the immediate future.
    We don't have land, just a 3/4 acre lot, but my neigbors says she'll let me use her pasture (behind our home). Her suggestion was to tie the goats to stakes, and move them around the pasture, which is unfenced, but what I want to do is get electric fencing, and move it from area to area. I'm looking at a wooden, kids' playhouse, to have them in at night. We have 2 small children, ages 3 and 6, and we want the goats to be our pets, and very used to being handled, which means we should probably get really young ones, right? Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated! (I am leaning towards the larger breeds, like perhaps Nubians, versus little Pygmee goats, but I'm definitely open for pro's and con's)

2. helmstead

helmstead Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2007
    Alfordsville, IN
    Please don't consider tying out your goats. It leaves them vulnerable to predators and to themselves.

Any breed of goat can make a great pet. As long as they're well socialized, they're great. Yes, for good socialization, younger animals are best.

So, go for whatever you think is pretty [​IMG] and research fencing options.

Good luck!

3. Granolamom

Sep 9, 2008
    Dallas