whats the correct temp to brood chicks

olpoll

Chirping
11 Years
Sep 24, 2008
west cumbria, england, UK
Hello There,
im currently incubating eggs for the first time,
im going to make a brooder for the chicks when they hatch ive also got a 175 watt red heat lamp,
please could someone tell me the correct temperature the chicks should be kept at in the brooder when they first hatch and when to lower the temp as they get older
im new to all this so any info would be grateful

thanks
Olpoll

First order of business-
welcome-byc.gif
and good luck with your hatching!
jumpy.gif

The chicks should be kept at 95 degrees Farenheit for the first week, 90 for the second, 85 for the third, etc. This is the temperature measured at the edge of the heat circle. Make sure that your chicks can get away from the heat--if they are too hot they will pant and might spread their wings to cool, if they are too cold, they will huddle and chirp loudly.

Once they are fully feathered, (10 wks, I think) they can be moved outside if the temps are somewhat stable 60 degrees or higher.

Hope this helps!
frow.gif

Thats great thanks i was thinking of keeping them in the house for a few weeks then putting them in a larger brooder in the shed with a heat lamp its pritty cold over here in the UK at the moment freezing at night and about 5 to 8c through the day
i have 12 hens in a coop outside how long should i wait to put the young hens in with them at night

thanks again

Olpoll

Last edited:
I would like to say there is no SET temperature to brood chicks