1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

When do chickens molt?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by dmangum, Feb 11, 2012.

1. dmangum

dmangum Out Of The Brooder

Jul 5, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 17, 2015
  2. GhostRider65

GhostRider65 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 6, 2011
    NE Wisconsin
    I think 2 times per year, but I'm new to chickens as well, just got mine last March they are almosta year old and have had mini molts but no nakid chickens so far. I will be watching for a good answer as well.....Kim

3. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop
    Once a year, generally in the fall/winter. If a bird is super stressed, it can cause a molt at any time of year.

It can be barely noticeable, where you see that they look raggedy and miss some tail feathers OR it can look like this:
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
    2 people like this.
  4. Desert doll

Desert doll New Egg

Jun 29, 2012
    I wonder why they molt in winter when it seems they need their feathers to keep warm.

1 person likes this.
  5. Choco Maran

Choco Maran Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 25, 2009
    Ribera New Mexico