When is he going to gobble? And other questions

cashela

Songster
10 Years
Mar 4, 2009
South Eastern NH
Ok I still have my pet turkeys, the white ones, the meat birds that are pets. I love the darn things they are the greatest. I have done very well at keeping them from getting too fat. They are healthy birds with the exception that the tom has crooked toes that I fear will one day be an issue. I noticed that he is starting to get a beard, I saw this black thing on his white chest and was like what the heck is that? I grabbed him and felt it and figured out he is growing a beard. Anyway my question is when is he going to gobble? I'm just dying to hear him gobble.

Also this is my first year with poultry. My parents owned chickens and ducks and guineas but I've never had turkey's before. Do I have to do anything special for them in the winter other then food, water and shelter?

Also can I put lime in their cage to reduce the smell? We have gotten a lot of rain.

Do turkeys have to have something to roost on, mine don't and their cage isn't tall.

I have a chicken question too. I got that free chicken when I got the turkeys. It had issues but it is now better and living outside in it's own cage. I thought it was a hen but now I am questioning that. It's comb might be getting bigger and it is aggressive! It has pecked me twice now. The turkey's are docile compared to this thing. It also went up to my tom and squatted down in front of it and fluffed its neck feathers out and looked like it was going to attack him until the tom backed away. I assume this is Roo activity and not something a hen would do? But it also does a lot of the bock bock bock noise, and is very vocal. I didn't think roo's were that vocal other then crowing? I'm so new to all of this still. Sorry for all of the stupid questions.