When should I expect 1st molt?

mountainbunny

Songster
May 26, 2016
Central Arkansas
I'm still fairly new to chickens and have a mixed flock all about 8 months old. 1 barred Rock roo, 2 barred hens, 2 BO hens, and one mixed breed (or possibly black sex link) hen. I'm clueless about molting. should I expect as the signs of the start of molting? What age does it usually start? ANYTHING you can share with me about the whole process is greatly appreciated!

Last edited:
Molting is what your birds had been doing the entire time growing up. Minni molts through growth and you no doubt noticed times where there was a lot of feathers lying about. A bunch of mini molts. Come next fall into winter will be the first annual molt. Some birds experience a hard molt where feather loss is dramatic and they are nearly completely bald, others so gradual you don't notice it much on the bird but see feathers all the time lying around. They will replace all feathers once a year at that time (late fall to early winter) and the time it takes to complete can be from a few months to four depending on bird. During molt egg production plummets if not dries up all together. Again it's individual bird dependent the egg production during molt and how long that low or no eggs will last.

We've had mixed results on age at first molt, i.e. after they've started laying- so far all that have molted have done it fall/early winter.

One (Australorp) molted while she was raising her chicks (1yr, 3mo), then started laying again for the winter.
The other Australorp (1yr, 3mo) has yet to take a break or show any signs of molting. The one on the left with the bleached out feathers hasn't molted. The black bird on the right has molted. You can also see the freshly molted speckled at the top and a corner of her "sister" at the bottom. One of my Speckled Sussex stopped laying and is molting, the other shows no sign and is still laying (1yr, 3mo).