when to put chicks on the wire?

Firemenlovechicks

Songster
10 Years
Jan 5, 2010
Medina, TN (near Jackson)
Hey all! Got my new babies today from McMurray! (sorry, computer troubles and unable to upload pics right now) All seem to be very happy and healthy!

I have them in a commercial style brooder with a wire floor and slide out tray underneath...... right now I have paper towels down but I need to know when it is safe to remove the paper towels and let them stay on just the wire? I don't want to cause them any leg problems......

I have roughly 35 cornish X, plus a couple of golden polish, aracaunas, buff and white orpingtons, barred rocks, blue cochins, and a suprise free chick or five!

Anyways, I am new to this so I am just trying to make sure I don't hurt the babies!

Thanks,

Jeff

Yeah, I'd say wait a couple weeks, perhaps a month. I'd love to see your surprise chick(s) - Oh, and sorry to say but your Araucanas are not real Araucanas, but crossbred chickens called Easter Eggers.
smile.png

Quote:
Yeah, I know about the aracaunas...... couldn't find any pure bred when I was ordering..... I knew I was getting mutts when the catalog said "not for show" "only for colored eggs" and the breed was listed as "aracauna / ameracauna"

LOL

o well...... we will have pretty eggs...... maybe...... lol

thanks for the replies!

Jeff

I put mine on wire immediately and none developed leg or foot problems. Not to say that others haven't had different experiences, just relating mine.