Which hatchery is best?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Skip, Jan 1, 2009.

1. Skip

Skip Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi, I'm new to chicks and I'd like to know which hatchery is best. Which hatchery do you use? What are your experiences, if any, with Mcmurray and Henderson's? Will either of them give me only six chicks?

2. samapp

samapp Out Of The Brooder

Feb 28, 2008
    Mississippi
    I have ordered from McMurray in the past and had good luck with the chicks; the only thing is that you have to buy 25 chicks minimum. I have never heard of Hendersons so I can't say anything about them.

Last year I ordered from Ideal Poultry in Texas http://www.ideal-poultry.com/ They do not have a minimum amount of chicks you can order but they do have a minimum dollar amount of $25.00.

I was very happy with the chicks I got last year from them and would order again.

3. Fresh Eggs

Fresh Eggs Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 1, 2009
    I am new too!

McMurray's minimum of chicks is 25, my pet chicken will give u up to 8 in the farthest parts of the country, I belive. Good luck, my 26 chicks will be here at the end of Jan!!

Fresh Eggs

4. namreknat

namreknat Out Of The Brooder

Sep 21, 2008
    N.W. Oklahoma
    I really couldn't say which hatchery is best; but I have ordered from Ideal twice and things went well both times. [​IMG]

5. PortageGirl

PortageGirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Meyer will also ship small orders, though they don't have all the variaties some bigger hatcheries have, they have some good ones and are a family business and I'm told they're very reliable. So far, I've called a couple times with questions and am convinced they're decent people.

http://www.meyerhatchery.com/

6. Opa

Opa Opa-wan Chickenobi

May 11, 2008
    Howell Michigan
    I had real good luck with Estes Hatchery

7. Cats Critters

Cats Critters Completely Indecisive

I vote Ideal, my order all arivved alive and healthy and I have not had any health problems ether.

8. jhmoore