Why do you homestead?

Discussion in 'DIY / Self Sufficiency' started by LordStark, Nov 2, 2014.

1. LordStark

LordStark Out Of The Brooder

Jan 7, 2014
    Australia NSW
    Hi all
    I'm very new to homesteading, I have a 1200 acre property and have spent this past year trying to become more self sufficient.
    I was thinking about the reasons why I've started this project and I started wondering why other people do this?
    Some of my main reasons are......

Economic, The cost of living has gone way up and my grocery bill is pretty out of control. The more produce I grow and the more livestock I raise, the lower my bill gets (hopefully).

Uncertain times, ok elephant in the room. I don't like how this century is unfolding politically, socially, economically and in many other areas. I'm not really a prepper but I think we'll all need to be a bit more self sufficient in the near future.

The satisfaction, alot of our food is being tampered with and I think it's good to know where it all came from and how it was grown.

Anyway I'd love to hear from you all and find out why you're into homesteading.

1 person likes this.
  2. mtngirl35

mtngirl35 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 10, 2013
    Tennessee