Why Wait?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by jgaepi, Nov 28, 2011.

1. jgaepi

jgaepi Out Of The Brooder

Feb 25, 2011
    davis, ca
    I need a sanity check. I have the coop outside. I have the supplies for the chicken run and it will be complete sunday. I have the chick brooder set up and ready. A full operation with the flick of a switch. But I have had little luck finding chicks - we started late. There are some options, I can get slightly older ones via craigslist. I can buy some gucci breeds like Lavender Orpington or bearded polish something or other. But I really just want some normal chicks to start with. I want this to be painless for me and a good learning experience for my young kids.

So A) Should I just wait and let things collect dust until early March when i can get sexed chicks from the feed store
    B) Pay extra and roll the dice on some rare breeds I have zero experience with
    C) Get older birds and lose some of the initial experience
    D) Get eggs through the mail and really get the experience from day one

2. turtlebird

turtlebird Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 11, 2009
    I would chose "A"
    EVEN THO' I am incredibly impatient....I'd probably spend the time researching the whole "which breed is best for our family" thing totally to death and then wait to get what I wanted. But that's my personality. Others are perfectly happy just jumping right in there with whatever is around.
    Chicks in the spring time is pretty fun. Whatever you chose....woooo-hooooo for you! Have fun with your new chickens [​IMG]

3. stephanie1992

stephanie1992 Chillin' With My Peeps