Will a hen steal another hen's baby chick?

outdoorbunny

Chirping
7 Years
Jun 12, 2012
Culpeper, Virginia
This may be a silly question but will a hen steal another's baby chick? I've been raising chickens for the last 4 years. I have 46 hens and 2 roosters. Right now I have five broody hens and they have been sitting on eggs from 3 weeks ago to just a few days. Unfortunately since I have so many hens, they all keep laying eggs in the broody hens nests so I don't know which eggs are about to hatch. Plus all the broody hens keep playing musical nests and each day they are laying on a different pile of eggs. Normally I separate my broodies but my brooder house has 16 baby chicks running around that I ordered through the mail.

I know that some of the eggs are 21 plus days old and may be ready to hatch. This afternoon I went out to the barn with my dog, Logan, and one of my Golden Muran's went all "Matrix" on him. My poor dog didn't know what was happening. It was pretty funny. That's when I heard the little chirping of a baby chick and sure enough, the Muran was protecting a baby. The thing is, the Muran wasn't one of my broody hens. Will a hen steal another hen's baby chick? Or do I have a sneaky hen with a secret nest?

Oh and All of my 5 broody hens are still sitting on their nests with no chicks as of yet.

I was just wondering if anyone ever had this happen.

Thank you

Debra

Some will swap chicks, some think any other chicks are the devil's spawn, it just depends on the bird. sounds like you had a stealth broody to me
smile.png

Just a tip for the future, to make things easier---mark the broody hen's clutch with a sharpie. Give her all the eggs you want her to hatch at once and draw a circle all the way around the egg. Check under the hen each day and remove any unmarked eggs that were added by other hens, this will prevent staggered hatches and get you better results.

We had an australorp hen hatch out three chicks 9 days ago.